Nepali Society of Tasmania (NEST) is a community-based organisation established in 2012. The Organisation aims to bring together Nepali or those with an interest in the welfare of Nepal and Nepali to provide support and unify people from a Nepali background. The Organisation is the result of several community meetings with general community members.

NEST has been promoting our community in broader Australian culture and keeping our culture alive in this foreign soil. Culture is a very important aspect of life, and it is important to pass it to the upcoming generation who resides in Tasmania. 

Nepalese Society of Tasmania is also active in different programs such as organising community integration programs, business meets up, mental health awareness program, career coaching, blood donation, Community language school and so on. Since the number of Nepalese living in Tasmania has grown rapidly in the present years the responsibility of the organisation became wider. 

The membership of NEST is open to all people and their family members residing in Tasmania, Australia who are originally from the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. People with Nepali or non-Nepali background who are originally from other countries can also join this organisation but shall not hold any decision making and voting rights.


We are dedicated towards promoting the unity amongst Nepali in Tasmania along with introducing our community to broader Australian society. We also aim to provide support to the community members to maintain and develop their cultural practices, Assist in Career coaching, Allow for an avenue for lobbying and advocacy to service providers and government departments when necessary.


The mission of Nepali Society of Tasmania is to bring together all Nepali residing in Tasmania under one umbrella through this legally registered organisation

The organisation consists of an elected executive committee consisting of nine (9) executive members as follows:

– One President

– One Vice President

– One Secretary

– One Treasurer and

– Five Executive Members

Scroll to Top